By Funded Work Editorial Desk · AI-assisted summary · sources linked below when available
Belk Lines Up $1.3B in New Senior Secured Credit Facilities
Wells Fargo Bank and Pathlight Capital provide the $1.3B in senior secured credit facilities to the privately-owned Southeastern department store chain.
Belk has closed $1.3B in new senior secured credit facilities, the Charlotte, NC-based department store retailer announced, with Wells Fargo Bank and Pathlight Capital named as the lenders behind the financing.
The transaction is debt rather than equity, and the announcement did not disclose pricing, maturity or what the company intends to do with the proceeds.
Belk describes itself as a leading regional department store serving communities across the Southeastern United States. The privately-owned chain operates nearly 300 Belk, Belk Market and Belk Outlet locations across 16 Southeastern states, and sells digitally through belk.com and its mobile app.
The company frames its business around selling products at competitive prices, treating customers like family and giving back to the communities it serves, and says it supports local charities, organizations and families.
The financing lands as regional department store operators continue to balance a large physical footprint against the cost of running e-commerce and mobile channels alongside it. Belk's store network spans 16 states, giving it a broad geographic base but also a substantial base of leases and operating costs to carry — the kind of overhead that secured credit facilities are typically used to manage.
For Belk, the size of the facility is notable relative to the scale of the business: nearly 300 stores across a 16-state footprint, backed by $1.3B in new senior secured borrowing capacity from two lenders. Neither Wells Fargo Bank nor Pathlight Capital commented in the announcement, and Belk did not disclose additional terms of the facilities.
About the Company
Belk today announced the closing of $1.275 billion in new senior secured credit facilities.